1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email


Amphibians are a group of vertebrates that includes salamanders, newts, caecilians, frogs, and toads. There are between 5,000 and 6,000 species of amphibians alive today. The first amphibians arose about 370 million years ago during the Devonian Period. The articles listed below provide information about the characteristics, classification, and evolution of amphibians.
  1. Caecilians (1)
  2. Frogs and Toads (10)
  3. Newts and Salamanders (2)

Amphibians are a group of vertebrates that includes frogs and toads, caecilians, and newts and salamanders. The ancestors of modern amphibians were the first animals to venture out of the water and adapt to life on land.

The Basic Amphibian Groups
An introduction to the three basic groups of amphibians including salamanders and newts, caecilians, and frogs and toads.

Facts About Amphibians
Learn interesting facts about frogs and find out about their diversity, evolutionary history and the characteristics make them different from other amphibian groups.

Amphibian Pictures
Pictures of amphibians including red-eyed tree frogs, axolotl, green tree frogs, California newts, leopard frogs, and more.

Vertebrates Transition from Water to Land
During the Devonian Period, about 375 million years ago, a group of vertebrates clamoured their way out of the water and onto land.

Why Amphibians Are in Decline
In recent years, scientists and conservationists have been working to raise public awareness of a global decline in amphibian populations.

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.