1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email

The Life Cycle of a Frog


1 of 5

The Life Cycle of a Frog
Photo © Jo11968 / iStockphoto.

The life cycle of a frog consists of three stages: egg, larva, and adult. As the frog grows it moves through these stages in a process known as metamorphosis. Frogs are not the only animals to undergo metamorphosis, most other amphibians also undergo remarkable changes throughout their life cycles, as do many species of invertebrates. During metamorphosis, two hormones (prolactin and thyroxine) control the transformation from egg to larva and adult.

See More About

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.