1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email


Marsupials are a group of mammals that includes opossums, the Tasmanian devil, numbats, bandicoots, wombats, koalas, kangaroos and wallabies. There are 292 species of marsupials alive today. The articles listed below provide information about the characteristics, classification and evolution of marsupials.

Marsupials are a group of mammals that give birth to their young at an early stage of their development. In this article, explore basic facts about marsupials including how they are classified, what they eat, where they live and the characteristics that make them different from other mammal groups.

Facts About Marsupials
Learn interesting facts about marsupials and find out about the characteristics make them different from other animal groups, their life cycle and their evolutionary history.

The Evolutionary Lessons of Marsupials
I'd wager that a marsupial mammal, given a lecture hall and a podium, could teach a fantastic course in evolution. Over millions of years, these amazing creatures have seen it all: divergent evolution, parallel evolution, and convergent evolution.

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.