1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.



Marsupials - Marsupialia

Marsupials - Marsupialia

Photo © Craigrjd / iStockphoto.
Top Related Searches

Marsupials (Marsupialia) are a group of mammals that give birth to their young at an early stage of their development. After their birth, the young crawl up the mother's body and into the safety of her marsupium—a pouch located on the mother's abdomen. Once inside the marsupium, the baby attaches to a nipple and nurses until it is large enough to leave the pouch and better fend for itself in the outside world.


Marsupials are a group of mammals that are divided into two main groups, the American marsupials and the Australian marsupials. The American marsupials include opossums and shrew opossums. The Australian marsupials include the Tasmanian devil, numbats, bandicoots, wombats, marsupial moles, pygmy possums, koalas, kangaroos, wallabies and many others. There are 292 species of marsupials alive today.

  1. About.com
  2. Education
  3. Animals / Wildlife
  4. Mammals
  5. Marsupials
  6. Marsupials

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.